Featured Video Play Icon

About Virginia Elections

June 11, 2019 Commonwealth Primary 

November 5, 2019 Commonwealth General Election

Offices on the ballot:  State Senate and House of Delegates and Virginia City and County officeholders

The Virginia Department of Elections based in the capital city of Richmond is responsible for overseeing elections in Virginia.  Christopher E. “Chris” Piper has been appointed as the Commissioner.

Web elections.virginia.gov
Facebook  Twitter   YouTube

Email:   info@elections.virginia.gov
Address:  Washington Building, First Floor
1100 Bank Street, Richmond 23219
Number:  (804) 864-8901  Toll Free: (800) 552-9745
Office Hours:  8:15 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.   Monday through Friday

Featured Video Play Icon

Governor Northam State of the Commonwealth Address – 1/9/19

Feature video is Governor Ralph Northam's Jan. 9, 2019 "State of the Commonwealth Address" at the opening of the 400th Virginia General Assembly.

The Virginia General Assembly is the legislative body of the Commonwealth of Virginia, and the oldest continuous law-making body in the New World, established on July 30, 1619. The General Assembly is a bicameral body consisting of a lower house, the Virginia House of Delegates, with 100 members, and an upper house, the Senate of Virginia, with 40 members. Combined together, the General Assembly consists of 140 elected representatives from an equal number of constituent districts across the commonwealth.

Skip to toolbar