Virginia General Assembly

The Virginia General Assembly is the legislative body of the Commonwealth of Virginia, and the oldest continuous law-making body in the New World, established on July 30, 1619.

The General Assembly is a bicameral body consisting of a lower house, the Virginia House of Delegates, with 100 members, and an upper house, the Senate of Virginia, with 40 members. Combined together, the General Assembly consists of 140 elected representatives from an equal number of constituent districts across the commonwealth. The House of Delegates is presided over by the Speaker of the House, while the Senate is presided over by the Lieutenant Governor of Virginia. The House and Senate each elect a clerk and sergeant-at-arms. The Senate of Virginia's clerk is known as the "Clerk of the Senate" (instead of as the "Secretary of the Senate", the title used by the U.S. Senate).

The Republican Party currently holds a two-seat majority in both the House of Delegates and the Senate following large gains by Democrats in the 2017 House election.

Virginia State Government

The government of Virginia combines the three branches of authority in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The current Governor of Virginia is Ralph Northam.

The State Capitol building in Richmond was designed by Thomas Jefferson, and the cornerstone was laid by Governor Patrick Henry in 1785. Virginia currently functions under the 1971 Constitution of Virginia. It is the Commonwealth's seventh constitution. Under the Constitution, the government is composed of three branches, the legislative, the executive and the judicial.

Contact page
Address: 1000 Bank Street

Ralph Northam

Current Position: Governor since 2018
Affiliation: Democrat
Mission Statement:
"Governor Northam approaches public service with the same passion he brought to his military and medical service. He is committed to working with leaders from both parties to build a Virginia that works better for every family, no matter who they are or where they live."

Richmond Office
Virginia Governor
Ralph Northam
P.O. Box 1475
Richmond, VA 23218
Phone: 804-786-2211

Email Links: Email the Governor

Websites: Government Pages, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram

Justin Fairfax

Current Position: Lt. Governor since 2018
Affiliation: Democrat
Mission Statement: N/A

Capitol Office
Oliver Hill Building
102 Governor Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218
Phone: 804-786-2078
Fax: 804-786-7514

Chief of Staff: Ed Reed
Outreach and Policy Director: Adele McClure
Constituent Services and Scheduling Director: Julia Billingsley

Email Links: Contact Form

Websites: Government Page, Campaign Site, Facebook, Twitter, Flickr

Mark Herring

Current Position: Attorney General since 2014
Affiliation: Democrat
Mission Statement: N/A

Richmond office
Attorney General's Office
202 North Ninth Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
Phone: (804) 786-2071

Consumer Complaint Hotline
Phone: 1(800) 552-9963

Email Links: Contact Information

Websites: Government Pages, Campaign Site, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Flickr, YouTube

Skip to toolbar